Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

29 Schools Eligible for Distinguished Honors

The Long Beach Unified School District has a record 29 elementary schools that are eligible to apply for the 2004 California Distinguished School Award--the most in the district’s history. California’s best elementary schools will be honored this year. To be eligible, schools with APIs of 699 to 799 must have at least 95 percent participation for all subgroups on state tests and must meet or exceed the school’s growth target by at least five points. LBUSD schools eligible to apply are Alvarado, Birney, Bixby, Buffum, Burbank, Burroughs, Cubberley, Fremont, Gant, Harte, Henry, Holmes, International, Keller, Kettering, Lafayette, Longfellow, Lowell, MacArthur, Madison, Mann, Naples, Newcomb, Riley, Robinson, Roosevelt, Signal Hill, Stevenson and Tucker. Next year, eligible middle and high schools may apply.