LBUSD News (03/02/23) State's Best Health Education Teacher Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

State's Best Health Education Teacher

Amelia Johnson, a health education teacher at Jefferson Leadership Academy, was selected as the recipient of the Health Education Teacher of the Year award from the California Association of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (CAHPERD). 

“I am truly honored to be selected as CAHPERD’s Health Education Teacher of the Year. It feels really good to be recognized by my peers, and I’m humbled by the award,” Johnson said. 

“Generally, awards aren’t a big deal to me, but after all that has occurred in the past three years, it is a big deal,” Johnson said. “The award is a wonderful validation of my work and dedication to students. I wish every teacher would get the recognition they deserve.”

Johnson has been an educator with the Long Beach Unified School District for 23 years. Her career began at Cabrillo High School, where she taught health education, coached the track team and served as the girl’s athletic director. Her passion for health education has been at the center of her work throughout her time at LBUSD. She transferred to Jefferson once an opportunity became available to continue to teach health while also supporting students’ success. 

“I’m beyond appreciative of my colleagues at the California Physical Education – Health Project for the leadership opportunities they have entrusted me, the high-quality professional learning they provide, and the nomination,” Johnson said. “I am also grateful to CAHPERD for the award and to Cabrillo, Jefferson and other LBUSD colleagues, past and present, for their friendship, mentoring, support and encouragement.”

Johnson’s recognition marks the second consecutive year a Teacher of the Year honor has been awarded to an LBUSD educator by CAHPERD. Last year, Sarah Savala, a physical education and dance teacher from Marshall Academy for the Arts, received the Middle School Physical Education Teacher of the Year Award.

Johnson will be honored at the 2023 CAHPERD State Conference scheduled for later this month.

Amelia Johnson