LBUSD News (05/30/19) Most Inspiring Students Honored Skip to main content
Long Beach Unified School District Logo

Most Inspiring Students Honored

Video: Most Inspiring Students Awards 2019 [HD]

Students from each school in the Long Beach Unified School District were honored at the Most Inspiring Students Awards event held recently at the Long Beach Hilton.  The annual dinner, sponsored by the school district and the Long Beach Education Foundation, recognizes students who exemplify persistence, tremendous effort, good citizenship and service.

The keynote speaker was Long Beach Police Chief Robert Luna, who received a Service Above Self Award from the school district.  He was introduced to the audience by Long Beach Fire Chief Xavier Espino, who said “the students we’ll meet tonight are being honored because they inspire us to be our best selves, and we’re fortunate to call these students our own.”

Luna thanked school district employees for their daily work, and he praised the student honorees and their parents.

“Thank you to the parents, who I believe are doing an absolutely amazing job, and making sure students get up every day, that they go to school, that they’re dressed, that when they get home they’re doing their homework, because at the end of the day, as a police chief, I want nothing more than to see our children succeed.  We want to make sure that their hopes and dreams come alive.”

Also addressing the students were members of the Board of Education and LBUSD administrative staff.  Members of the Millikan High School Concert Choir sang for the audience.

LBUSD Music Curriculum Leader James Petri earned the Once in a Generation Education Award for exemplary service.  Education Foundation President Henry Fung and Executive Director Judy Seal also were recognized for their many years of service.

INSPIRING STUDENT - Diego Franco of Rogers Middle School accepts a Most Inspiring Student Award.  Also pictured are Board of Education member Megan Kerr, Fire Chief Xavier Espino, Police Chief Robert Luna, Superintendent Christopher J. Steinhauser, Board of Education member Felton Williams, Board of Education President Diana Craighead and Rogers Principal Jeff Wood.